Skip to Menu Skip to Search Contact Us Indonesia Websites & Languages Skip to Content

The new Singapore SS 590: 2013 HACCP-based Food Safety Management has been introduced to replace the existing Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC) HACCP Document No. 2 – Management of Food Safety based on HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) – Requirements for a HACCP-based Food Management System. The new standard can be used as a stepping stone for the implementation of ISO 22000:2005.

The SS 590: 2013 is applicable to all food-related business organisations. Implementation of SS 590: 2013 will help these organisations improve the safety and quality of their food products and services and / or gain access to targeted export markets.

What is HACCP?

HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) is a science based systematic approach to identify specific hazards  and measures for control to ensure the safety for food. It has become the universally recognised and accepted method for food safety assurance. The HACCP system consists of seven main principles:

  1. Conduct a hazard analysis
  2. Determine the Critical Control Points (CCPs)
  3. Establish critical limit(s)
  4. Establish a system to monitor control of the CCP
  5. Establish the corrective action to be taken when monitoring indicates that a particular CCP is not under control
  6. Establish procedures for verification to confirm that the HACCP system is working perfectly
  7. Establish documentation concerning all procedures and records appropriate to those principles and their application

The HACCP system is capable of accommodating change, such as advances in equipment design, processing procedures or technological developments and requires the full commitment and involvement of management to implement and maintain.

Benefits of Using SS 590:2013

This Singapore Standard enables food companies to be audited and certified for the food safety management system standard accredited by the Singapore Accreditation Council and provides the principles and requirements, which were redrafted for adoption by small and medium-sized food organizations. The SS 590:2013 is drafted in a similar structure to, and is a modified adoption of ISO 22000:2005, which will condition end-users to the certification and auditing framework of ISO 22000:2005, which makes it easier for companies to adopt the ISO 22000:2005 whenever they want to.

How SGS Can Help

SGS Singapore is one of the SAC accredited certification bodies in Singapore which is able to audit and certify food companies based on the new SS 590:2013 HACCP-based Food Safety Management Systems. Companies which are currently certified against the HACCP Document No. 2 will be able to convert to the new standard.

About Singapore Standard SS 590:2013 – HACCP-based Food Safety Management Systems – Requirements for any Organisation in the Food Chain

SS 590:2013 is a Singapore Standard that specifies requirements of a HACCP-based food safety management system. It is to replace the SAC HACCP Document No. 2 : Management of food safety based on HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point) – Requirements for a HACCP based food management system. The latter is the current HACCP certification criteria in Singapore published by the Singapore Accreditation Council (SAC).

SS 590:2013 is drafted as a modified adoption of ISO 22000:2005 – Food safety management systems – Requirements, for any organisation in the food chain.